Department of Justice Canada Minister's Transition Book

Legislative Responsibilities of the Minister of Justice

Department of Justice Act

The Department of Justice Act, first passed in 1868, sets out the dual responsibilities, powers and functions of the Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada and establishes the Department of Justice.

The statutes for which the Minister has sole or shared responsibility are listed below.

Sole responsibility of Minister of Justice

  • Administrative Tribunals Support Service of Canada Act
  • An Act respecting the mandatory reporting of Internet child pornography by persons who provide an Internet service
  • Annulment of Marriages Act (Ontario) Canada Evidence Act
  • Canada Prize Act
  • Canada-United Kingdom Civil and Commercial Judgments
  • Convention Act Canadian Bill of Rights Canadian Human Rights Act Canadian Victims Bill of Rights Civil Marriage Act
  • Commercial Arbitration Act
  • Contraventions Act
  • Courts Administration Service Act Crown Liability and Proceedings Act Department of Justice Act
  • Director of Public Prosecutions Act
  • Divorce Act Escheats Act Extradition Act
  • Family Orders and Agreements Enforcement Assistance Act
  • Federal Courts Act
  • Federal Law and Civil Law of the Province of Quebec Act
  • Foreign Enlistment Act
  • Foreign Extraterritorial Measures Act
  • Identification of Criminals Act
  • International Sale of Goods Contracts Convention Act
  • Interpretation Act
  • Judges Act
  • Law Commission of Canada Act
  • Legislation Revision and Consolidation Act Legislative Instruments Re-enactment Act Marriage (Prohibited Degrees) Act
  • Mutual Legal Assistance in Criminal Matters Act
  • Official Languages Act
  • Postal Services Interruption Relief Act Revised Statutes of Canada, 1985 Act Security of Information Act
  • Security Offences Act State Immunity Act Statutes Repeal Act Statutory Instruments Act
  • Succession to the Throne Act, 2013
  • Supreme Court Act
  • Tax Court of Canada Act
  • United Nations Foreign Arbitral Awards Convention Act
  • Youth Criminal Justice Act

Shared responsibility of Minister of Justice

  • Access to Information Act (with the President of the Treasury Board)
  • Bills of Lading Act (with the Minister of Transport)
  • Criminal Code (with the Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness and the Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food)
  • Garnishment, Attachment and Pension Diversion Act (with the Minister of National Defence, the Minister of Public Works and Government Services, and the Minister of Finance)
  • Immigration and Refugee Protection Act (with the Minister of Citizenship and Immigration and the Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness)
  • Privacy Act (with the President of the Treasury Board)

Director of Public Prosecutions Act

Date modified: