Minister of Justice National Youth Justice Policing Award

2005 Winner

Detective Hugh Wong
Toronto Police Service

Detective Hugh Wong

Detective Hugh Wong of the Toronto Police Service was the recipient of the 2005 Minister of Justice National Youth Justice Policing Award for his work with the Peacemaking Circle program through Peacebuilders International Inc. This is a non-profit organization that promotes, despite cultural differences, relationships based upon common values such as respect, sharing, compassion and accountability. The Circle model relies on participation from many community stakeholders, including the police, schools, social workers and family members. During these circles, participants are encouraged to listen to others, step into their shoes, share their experiences and work towards a common goal.

The Circle program provides a community-based alternative to the court system. It helps to keep youths connected to their communities by including a variety of community stakeholders as part of the solution. Furthermore, it utilizes the concept of conferencing to assist in the decision-making process by bringing together those participants most harmed by the young person's actions in a forum which promotes open discussions, builds trust and supports effective dialogue into the future.

Certificate of Distinction

Constable Dean Childs
RCMP, Kelowna Detachment - Alternative Intervention for Marijuana Suspension (AIMS)

Constable Dean Childs

Previous Winners

The Minister of Justice National Youth Justice Policing Award was established in 2000. Here are the previous award recipients:

Date modified: